Buying hotel points: when it is worth it, and when it is not
The decision rule for buying hotel points, plus what IHG, Hilton, Marriott, Hyatt and Choice each publish about purchase caps, expiry clocks and whether bought points count toward elite status.
Affiliate disclosure: some links in this article are tracked partner links; we may earn a commission at no cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.
The verdict
- Buy hotel points only to top up an award night you have already priced. Take the cash rate you would otherwise pay, subtract any cash the award booking still charges you, divide by the points the award needs, and multiply by 1,000. That figure is the most a thousand points can be worth to you on that booking. If the storefront quote is higher, pay cash. Start with whichever program you are closest on — you can see today's IHG points price and put your own numbers into our points-value calculator.
- Never buy points speculatively. IHG and Marriott both say in their own rules that the points a night costs can change at any time, and only Hyatt publishes a fixed chart. Points bought today can buy fewer nights tomorrow. Buy after you have found the room, not in anticipation of one.
- Purchased points do not buy elite status. Marriott, Hilton and IHG all say so in their published rules, and Choice's status currency is nights and stay credits. Bought points are a booking tool, nothing more.
The only calculation that matters
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
Every "should I buy points?" question collapses into one comparison: what a point is worth to you on this specific booking versus what the storefront is charging you for it today.
Your side of the comparison is a short sum, and all three inputs are readable before you spend anything:
Break-even per 1,000 points = (cash rate you would otherwise pay − cash still due on the award) ÷ points the award requires × 1,000
The subtraction matters more than people expect. An award night is rarely free of cash. Marriott's rules spell out that an award stay covers the guest room, room tax, service charge and extra-person charges, while incidentals and resort fees remain yours to pay. IHG's terms say the same thing in different words: resort fees and service charges at individual hotels may apply and are paid directly to the hotel. So the cash you save is the cash rate minus whatever the hotel still bills you — not the cash rate itself.
The denominator is the points the award actually needs for your dates, which for most of these chains you can only learn by pricing the night. And the third number — the price per thousand points — is the one we deliberately do not print. The storefront shows the current price for your account, because the programs themselves say the price moves. Hilton's terms state plainly that the purchase limit, the minimum purchase threshold and the cost of points may change at any time without notice, and that the total cost will be shown to you during the purchase process. That is why the honest workflow is: price the night, do the sum, then open the storefront and compare. The points-value calculator does the division for you if you would rather not.
What each program lets you buy, in its own words
Every cell below comes from the program's own published rules, read in September 2026 except where noted.
| Program | Purchase cap per calendar year | Minimum and increment | Points forfeited after | Do purchased points count for status? | Storefront |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IHG One Rewards | 200,000 | increments of 1,000 | 12 months with no earn or redeem activity; Elite members' points do not expire while status is held | No. The terms sort points into Elite Qualifying and Non-Elite Qualifying, and put purchases in the second column | linked in the verdict above |
| Hilton Honors | 160,000 | thresholds may apply; the terms publish no figure | 24 months of inactivity | No. "Hilton Honors Points earned do not count toward Elite Tier Status qualification" | see today's Hilton points price |
| Marriott Bonvoy | 150,000 through the Buy and Gift storefronts; 100,000 through the Points.com window on Marriott's own sites | the rules state a rate of $12.50 per 1,000 points and add that pricing varies during promotional periods | 24 months of inactivity | No. "Purchased Points do not count toward Marriott Bonvoy Elite status" | see today's Marriott points price |
| World of Hyatt | 55,000 | from 2,000 points, in increments of 1,000 | not stated in a page we could open | not stated in a page we could open | see today's Hyatt points price |
| Choice Privileges | 180,000 | increments of 1,000 | 18 months of inactivity | No. Status is earned through qualifying nights and stay credits | see today's Choice points price |
Two things jump out of that table. The caps are generous enough that they are almost never the binding constraint — 200,000 IHG points or 160,000 Hilton points is several award nights at most properties. And the expiry clocks are short, which turns out to be the one place where a small purchase is defensible on its own terms.
Expiry is the honest reason to buy a handful of points
IHG's rule is the tightest of the five: your balance goes if there is no earn or redeem transaction in any twelve-month window, and IHG explicitly excludes the free night that comes with its co-branded card from counting as activity. Hilton and Marriott both run on 24 months of inactivity, and Marriott adds that an account left inactive for five consecutive years may be deactivated outright. Choice runs on 18 months.
Here is the part that makes a purchase rational: buying points is itself qualifying activity in three of these programs. Marriott's expiry clause lists purchasing points alongside earning and redeeming as a way to stay active. Hilton names purchasing points as one of only four actions that keep a balance alive. Choice's rules do the same, and say a qualifying activity pushes the expiry date out by a further 18 months. So the smallest legal purchase — often the minimum increment of 1,000 points — can reset a clock that would otherwise wipe a balance worth several nights.
That is a completely different transaction from buying a large block of points because a sale banner appeared. One is insurance on an asset you already own. The other is a speculative position in a currency the issuer can reprice at will.
Only one of these five publishes an award chart
This is the structural difference that decides how confident your arithmetic can be.
IHG and Marriott say outright that award prices move. IHG's terms say the number of points required for a reward night may vary according to several factors, including brand, hotel and day of week. Marriott's are more direct still: points required per night are updated continuously and may change at any time. In practice the denominator in your break-even sum is only knowable for the dates you are actually looking at, and a balance you buy today carries no fixed purchasing power.
Hilton publishes no award chart either, and we found no clause in its terms describing how the points cost of a reward night is set — the figure simply appears when you price the stay. Hilton's own published Points & Money examples show the points cost of a night ranging widely between properties, which tells you how wide the spread is without telling you the rule.
World of Hyatt is the exception. Hyatt announced in February 2026 that it would expand from three to five redemption levels inside its existing eight categories, and said in the same release that it remains committed to fixed point thresholds rather than moving to dynamic pricing. The chart is published: standard rooms run from 3,000 points a night at the lowest level of the cheapest category up to 75,000 at the top level of the most expensive one. That published ceiling is what makes Hyatt the one program here where you can do the sum before you know your dates — the point cost has a known upper bound per category.
Where the math usually fails
- You are buying to reach a number, not a night. If you have not priced the award, you do not have a denominator, and without a denominator there is no break-even.
- You forgot the cash still due. Resort fees, incidentals and, at some chains, extra-person charges survive an award booking. Subtract them or your break-even is inflated.
- You are treating a sale as a reason. A discount off a price the program can reset at any time is not a valuation. Only the break-even you calculated is a valuation.
- You are buying for status. Three of these five programs say outright that purchased points do not count toward elite tiers. Hilton's terms go further and note that points earned at all do not count toward tier qualification — Hilton's tiers run on stays, nights and eligible spend.
- A cheaper cash rate exists elsewhere. The cash side of the sum should be the best rate you can actually get, not the chain's rack rate. Our look at when booking IHG direct beats an OTA walks through how far apart those can be, and the chains with the cheapest rooms across the US and Canada is a useful sanity check on the numerator.
Where to go next
If you already know which program you are short in, the single-program breakdowns carry the full terms for each: buying IHG points, buying Hilton points, buying Marriott points and buying Hyatt points, which is the one with a published chart to check your sum against.
If you are still deciding which program to concentrate in — which matters far more than any single points purchase — start with whether IHG One Rewards pays off at Holiday Inn Express, compare how fast IHG and Best Western free-night perks pay off on a road trip, and if you travel for work, the chain with the most predictable rooms for routine work travel.
FAQ
Is buying hotel points ever worth it?
Yes, in two narrow cases. The first is topping up a balance to reach an award night you have already priced, when the cost per thousand points on the storefront is below the cash rate minus award fees divided by the points required. The second is buying the smallest permitted amount purely to reset an expiry clock, because several of these programs count a purchase as qualifying activity. Buying points because they are on sale, with no booking in mind, is not one of the cases.
Do purchased hotel points count toward elite status?
Not in the programs covered here that publish a rule. Marriott's terms say purchased points do not count toward Bonvoy elite status. IHG classifies point purchases as Non-Elite Qualifying Points, and only Elite Qualifying Points move you up tiers. Hilton's terms say points earned do not count toward tier qualification at all, since Hilton tiers run on stays, nights or eligible spend. Choice runs status on qualifying nights and stay credits. World of Hyatt's full program terms were not in a page we could open, so check them before assuming.
How much do hotel points cost to buy?
The price is set on the storefront at the moment you buy and it is account-specific, so we do not publish a figure. Hilton's own terms warn that the cost of points may change at any time without notice and that the total will be shown to you during the purchase process. Marriott's rules do state a rate of $12.50 per 1,000 points while noting that pricing varies during promotional periods. The reliable move is to price your award night first, work out your break-even, then open the storefront and compare.
When do hotel points expire?
IHG points go after 12 months with no earning or redeeming activity, though elite members keep theirs while status is held. Hilton and Marriott both use 24 months of inactivity. Choice uses 18 consecutive calendar months. We could not open a World of Hyatt page stating its rule. Note that in Marriott and Choice, buying points is itself an activity that restarts the clock.
Should I buy points or just pay cash for the room?
Compare the two directly rather than by instinct. Work out the cash rate you would actually pay, subtract the cash the award still charges, divide by the points required and multiply by a thousand. If the storefront price per thousand points is above that number, cash is cheaper. If it is below, the purchase wins on that booking only, and says nothing about the next one.
Sources
- IHG One Rewards Member Terms & Conditions — IHG Hotels & Resorts (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Hilton Honors Terms & Conditions (effective 15 July 2026) — Hilton (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Buy, Give & Transfer Hilton Honors Points — Hilton (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Marriott Bonvoy Loyalty Program Terms and Conditions — Marriott International (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Free Nights & Upgrades (World of Hyatt award chart), archived capture of 3 September 2026 — Hyatt Hotels Corporation via Internet Archive (accessed 2026-09-22)
- World of Hyatt Updates Award Chart While Preserving the Transparency Members Expect — Hyatt Newsroom (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Purchase, Share & Gift Points (World of Hyatt), archived capture of 8 December 2025 — Hyatt Hotels Corporation via Internet Archive (accessed 2026-09-22)
- Choice Privileges Rules and Regulations — Choice Hotels International (accessed 2026-09-22)
Affiliate Disclosure
Continue Reading
Buying Alaska miles vs cash: what the Atmos Rewards terms actually say
September 22, 2026
Late Checkout by Hotel Chain: Which Programs Publish an Hour, and Which Publish a Guarantee
September 22, 2026
Buying JetBlue points vs cash: how to test the break-even yourself
September 22, 2026
Buying Southwest points vs cash: why fare-linked pricing caps the upside
September 22, 2026