Skip to content
Hotel Chains & Rewards

How to top up points for an award night: caps, minimums, posting delays and the no-refund rule

11 min readBy Stay Shortlist Editorial
Last updated:Published:

Every big hotel program caps annual purchases, none refunds them, and only Marriott names a rate in its own rules. The caps, minimums, waiting periods and posting windows for all five, plus the order of operations that stops you overbuying.

Affiliate disclosure: some links in this article are tracked partner links; we may earn a commission at no cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.

The verdict

  1. Top up only when you are short of a specific award night you have already priced, and only after you have worked out your ceiling. Price the room in cash, subtract the cash the hotel still bills you on an award stay, divide by the points the night needs, multiply by 1,000 — that is the most you should pay per 1,000 points. Then see today's IHG points price and check the quote against it in our points-value calculator.
  2. Buy the gap, not the balance. Every one of the five big programs caps annual purchases and none will refund you. Buying more than the shortfall converts cash into a currency you cannot sell back and that may be repriced before you use it.
  3. Check the timing before you book. Marriott posts purchased points within 72 hours and Hilton within 48; Choice says purchases typically post within 24 hours; IHG and Hyatt publish no posting window at all. If the room is scarce, that delay is the real risk, not the price.

The rules, program by program

Free Hotels & Stays newsletter

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Read on 22 September 2026 from each program's own published terms. Hyatt's row comes from an archived capture dated 16 September 2026, because hyatt.com returns an error to automated requests.

ProgramAnnual purchase capMinimum or incrementWaiting periodPosting timeRefunds
IHG One Rewards200,000 pointsminimum increments of 1,000 pointsnot statednot stated"no cancellations or refunds are permitted"
Hilton Honors160,000 Bonus Pointsthresholds "may apply" and may change without notice30 days after enrolment with activity, 90 days withoutwithin 48 hoursnon-refundable
Marriott Bonvoy150,000 via the storefronts, or 100,000 via the Points.com window on Marriott's own sitesnot stated30 days after enrolmentwithin 72 hours"no refunds will be permitted"
World of Hyatt55,000 Bonus Points, and 55,000 per transactionincrements of 1,000 Bonus Pointsmembership of at least 60 daysnot stated"non-refundable and these transactions cannot be reversed"
Choice Privileges180,000 points"may be limited to certain increments (such as increments of 1,000 points)"not statedtypically within 24 hours"All purchases are non-refundable"

Three patterns fall out of that table, and each one changes a decision.

Hyatt's ceiling is the binding one. At 55,000 Bonus Points a year it is roughly a quarter of what IHG will sell you, and it is low enough that a single expensive night can exceed it. If Hyatt is your program, check the cap against the award before anything else — the arithmetic is in Marriott versus Hyatt on points per night.

Two programs make new members wait. Marriott allows a purchase 30 days after enrolment. Hilton allows it 30 days after enrolment if the account already shows qualifying activity, and 90 days regardless. Hyatt requires membership of at least 60 days. Joining a program in order to buy points for a booking next week does not work.

Nobody takes them back. Every one of the five states that purchases are final. That is the single most important line in the table, because it means a purchase made in the wrong order — buying first, pricing second — cannot be undone.

Step one: the ceiling, before you look at a price

Your ceiling per 1,000 points = (cash rate you would otherwise pay − cash still due on the award night) ÷ points the award night requires × 1,000

We are not going to fill that formula with invented numbers, because the numbers are the part you supply and a made-up example would only teach you to trust the wrong ones. What we can tell you is where each input comes from and where it goes wrong.

The cash rate is the best price actually available to you for those dates, not the chain's own rate. Compare current rates for your dates before you write the number down; if a third party is cheaper, that lower figure is your numerator and the award looks worse than you thought. The chain's own site does sometimes win, which is the question booking IHG direct versus through an OTA settles.

The cash still due is the part almost everyone skips. IHG's terms state that reward nights "do not include food and beverages … gratuities, or incidentals" and that "Resort fees and/or service charges at individual hotels may apply." Marriott's terms exclude "incidentals, resort fees … rollaways, and other fees" from an award redemption stay, while including room tax and service charge. Choice says members "are responsible for any incidental charges as well as any resort or other mandatory fees." Hilton is the outlier in the other direction: at hotels with resort fees, members "on Reward stays booked using all Points … will not pay resort fees."

The points required is straightforward at Hyatt, which publishes a chart, and has to be priced night by night everywhere else. Choice publishes a floor rather than a chart: reward nights start "at 6,000 Choice Privileges points per night," though "most Reward Nights redemption levels start at 8,000 points or more per night."

Step two: timing, because posting is not instant

If the room is available and cheap in points right now, a posting delay can cost you the booking.

Marriott commits to posting "within seventy-two (72) hours after the purchase is complete." Hilton commits to 48 hours, "provided there are no technical issues that prevent posting." Choice says purchased points "typically post within twenty-four (24) hours." IHG and Hyatt publish no window in the terms we read.

There is one route that sidesteps the delay entirely at IHG. Its terms describe Points & Cash as a redemption that "enables you to redeem a combination of your existing Points, and Points purchased at the time of booking, to book a Reward Night" — the purchase happens inside the booking rather than before it. IHG adds that if the reward night is later cancelled within the hotel's policy, "the purchased Points will be re-deposited into your IHG One Rewards account," although "the cost for the Points purchased is non-refundable." You get the points back, not the money.

Step three: the cap against what you actually need

Caps only matter when they bind, and they bind in two situations.

The first is a large redemption at Hyatt, where 55,000 Bonus Points a year will not cover a top-level night in the highest category. The second is a household buying for the same trip. Marriott runs two separate caps by channel — 150,000 through its storefronts and 100,000 through the Points.com window on its own sites — and Choice applies its 180,000 figure to gifted points as well, so a recipient account can take no more than 180,000 purchased or gifted points in a year.

A cap is also a reason to check transfers first. IHG allows transfers between two designated accounts but charges the authorising member $5 US per 1,000 points transferred, so a transfer is not free and belongs in the comparison rather than above it. Hilton permits pooling and one-to-one transfers in increments of 1,000 points without publishing a per-thousand fee. Marriott allows a member to transfer up to 100,000 points a year out and receive up to 500,000 in. Hyatt allows points to be combined with one other designated member, not more than once every 30 days.

Step four: what is published about price, and what is not

Only one hotel program states a purchase rate in its own rules. Marriott's terms say: "Points may be purchased at the rate of $12.50 U.S. dollars per 1,000 Points. Pricing varies during promotional periods."

Read both halves or neither. That is rulebook language rather than a live quote, and the same sentence tells you the figure moves. We build no break-even example on it.

The other four decline to name a number, and two of them explain why. Hilton: "Purchase limit, minimum Points purchase threshold requirements and cost of Points may change at any time without notice. Total cost of Points will be shown to Member during the purchase process before the purchase is completed." Hyatt: "The purchase price of Bonus Points is subject to change without notice." Choice notes only that prices are in US dollars and that foreign transaction fees may apply.

That is why this hub never prints a cents-per-point valuation for a hotel currency. The only real price is the one your account is shown at the moment you buy, which is exactly what the storefront link is for.

The worked sequence, on IHG

  1. Find the award night. Price it on IHG for your dates and note the points required. IHG prices reward nights dynamically — the terms say the number "may vary according to several factors, including but not limited to brand, hotel, and day of week" — so this number is specific to that search.
  2. Price the same room in cash, across the market rather than on one site.
  3. Subtract any resort fee or service charge the hotel will still bill you on the award stay.
  4. Divide and multiply. That is your ceiling per 1,000 points.
  5. Count the gap. Subtract your balance from the points required. The gap, rounded up to the nearest 1,000, is what you buy — nothing more.
  6. Open the storefront last. See today's IHG points price and compare the quote per 1,000 points against your ceiling. Below it, buy the gap. Above it, pay cash and close the tab.

If the balance is also close to its expiry date, the calculation changes shape entirely — a minimum purchase becomes insurance rather than an investment, and the numbers to check are in our table of hotel points expiration rules.

When not to top up

When there is no booking. A promotion is not a reason. Every program's terms allow it to reprice awards, and the currency you bought today buys less tomorrow if it does.

When you are chasing status. Purchased points count toward status in none of the five. Marriott says so directly, Hilton says points earned do not count toward Elite Tier Status qualification, Hyatt classes purchased points as Bonus Points outside elite qualification, IHG files them as Non-Elite Qualifying, and Choice awards status on nights and credits rather than balance.

When a transfer or a partner earn is cheaper. Check both before the storefront.

When the sum says no. That is most of the time, and it is a perfectly good outcome. The wider case for and against is in when buying hotel points is worth it, with the single-program versions in buying IHG points, buying Hilton points and buying Choice points. For airline currencies, where one program does publish a price, start with buying United miles versus cash.

FAQ

What is the minimum number of hotel points you can buy?

It varies and two programs decline to fix it. IHG's terms set minimum increments of one thousand points. Hyatt sells Bonus Points in increments of one thousand. Choice says purchases may be limited to certain increments, such as increments of one thousand points. Hilton says minimum purchase thresholds may apply and can change at any time without notice, and Marriott's terms state no minimum at all. Check the storefront for the figure that applies to your account.

How long do purchased points take to post?

Marriott commits to posting within seventy-two hours of the purchase completing. Hilton commits to forty-eight hours, provided no technical issue prevents posting. Choice says purchased points typically post within twenty-four hours. IHG and World of Hyatt publish no posting window in their terms. If you are buying to complete a booking on scarce dates, treat the delay as the main risk rather than the price.

Can you get a refund on purchased hotel points?

No, in all five programs. IHG says no cancellations or refunds are permitted subject to local law. Hilton says points bought under its purchase program are non-refundable. Marriott says no refunds will be permitted once points have been purchased. Hyatt says purchases are non-refundable and cannot be reversed. Choice says all purchases are non-refundable. Buy the gap you need and nothing beyond it.

How many points can you buy in a year?

IHG allows up to two hundred thousand points per calendar year and Choice up to one hundred and eighty thousand. Hilton allows up to one hundred and sixty thousand Bonus Points. Marriott allows a combined one hundred and fifty thousand through its storefronts, with a separate combined one hundred thousand through the Points.com window on its own sites. World of Hyatt is much tighter, at fifty-five thousand Bonus Points a year and the same figure per transaction.

Is it cheaper to buy points or to book with cash?

Only your booking can answer that. Work out the cash rate you would otherwise pay, subtract whatever the hotel still charges you on an award stay, divide by the points the night requires and multiply by a thousand. If the storefront quotes you less than that figure per thousand points, buying the shortfall wins on that booking. If it quotes you more, pay cash. Nothing about the promotion on the page changes the arithmetic.

Sources

  1. IHG Hotels & Resorts (accessed 2026-09-22)
  2. Hilton (accessed 2026-09-22)
  3. Marriott International (accessed 2026-09-22)
  4. Hyatt Corporation (via the Internet Archive) (accessed 2026-09-22)
  5. Choice Hotels International (accessed 2026-09-22)

Affiliate Disclosure

This article may contain affiliate links. If you make a purchase through these links, we may earn a commission at no additional cost to you.
#hotel points
#buying points
#award night
#IHG One Rewards
#points and miles
Newsletter

Stay in the Loop

Get the latest Hotels & Stays reviews, deals, and expert tips delivered straight to your inbox.

Join readers who get the inside track first.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy Policy.

More Articles

Featured Products

Buy IHG One Rewards points (Points.com)

View Deal
Trip.com — Hotels & Flights

Trip.com — Hotels & Flights

View Deal